Sanofi BioGENEius Challenge Canada (SBCC), Celebrating 20 years

Edmonton 2008 SABC Winners

by sbccadmin on September 12, 2008


The Edmonton regional competition was held on April 16 at the University of Alberta at the TIMMS Centre. The top five teams were:

1st Place
Mustafa and Hazal Babadagli, a brilliant grade 12 brother and sister duo of Old Scona Academic High School, won the $2,500 first place prize with a study into “Delivery of siRNA into cancer cells to prevent cancer spread”. Dr. Hasan Uludag, Associate Professor of Chemical and Materials Engineering, University of Alberta, mentored this team throughout their research. Representing Edmonton, Mustafa and Hazal will present their research at the national competition before a panel of experts at the National Research Council in Ottawa, on May 16h, 2008.

2nd Place
Matthew Li, grade 12 student of Old Scona Academic High School won the $1,500 second place prize for a project that investigated the “Development of an enzymatic assay for glutaminase found in the anterior stomach of Aedes aegypti larvae.” Matthew’s mentor, Dr. Greg Goss, is a Professor of Biological Sciences at the University of Alberta.

3rd Place
The third place prize of $1,000 was awarded to Joachim Chau and Eugene Hsung, grade 12 students from Old Scona Academic High School. This team was mentored by Dr. David Bressler Assistant Professor Agricultural, Food & Nutritional Science, University of Alberta who supported Joachim and Eugene throughout their project titled: “The effect of different honey components on the growth of cancer cells, and their concentrations in monofloral honeys of different nectar sources”.

4th Place
$750 was awarded to Kevin Zuo, Grade 12, and Jeff Choi, Grade 11, students of Old Scona Academic High School for achieving fourth place. These students worked on their project titled: “Determination of a somatic gene mutation of a well-classified medical immune disorder” with the help of their mentor Dr. Bruce Ritchie, Associate Professor Clinical Hematology, University of Alberta.

5th Place
Fifth place prize of $500 was awarded to Gajra Goyal and Sheena Malhotra, grade 12 students of Harry Ainlay Composite High School. Dr. Mavanur Suresh, Professor & Assoc Dean, Pharmacy Faculty at the University of Alberta, mentored this team throughout their research titled “Diagnostics of SARS-CoV nucleocapsid antigen using chickenimmunoglobulin Y (IgY).”

CONGRATULATIONS Mustafa and Hazal!

Mustafa and Hazal placed 4th at the National Competition in Ottawa on May 6th. CONGRATULATIONS AGAIN!

Previous post:

Next post: